top of page
  • Writer's pictureLC

DIY Live edge table with Hairpin legs

When you can't afford West Elm you make SouthEast Elm! You don't need fancy tools, or even a proper workstation to make this DIY Table. Below is what you will need & links to what I used/like to use. This table only cost me around $100!

Dimensions of this table are 49 inches long X approx. 14 inches wide. 30 inches tall X 2 1/4 inches thick.


YOU WILL NEED

  1. A piece of wood ( I used White Oak with a live edge, you can pick a piece without or sand it down depending on your taste or if you want to avoid the preservation steps) You can also order a leveled piece if you are worried about table wobble …..which is always my downfall!

  2. An electric Sander if you don't order it pre-sanded (cheap will do)

  3. A variety of Sandpaper Gritts, for me personally I change what I use depending on how the wood & finish looks and feels. I do suggest a steel wool pad to buff the finish at the end (I was terrified of this at first because it sounds crazy but trust me!)

  4. Hairpin Legs or any furniture leg of your choice.

  5. An Electric Drill

  6. Protective finish of your choice, Polyurethane is best for long-term protection from use.

  7. For brushes for the finish, I use cheap foam brushes that can be thrown out after each use.

  8. Basic cleanup items like old towels & a dustpan/vacuum.

OPTIONAL but SUGGESTED ITEMS

  1. Wood conditioner - not necessary but I suggest it especially if using a darker stain because they can be blotchy.

  2. Wood finishing Wax - This helps smooth out any remaining streaks/defects, looks nice & adds another level of protection.

  3. Single-use gloves for when applying finish. Poly is very sticky and will ruin your mani!

  4. Wood filler for any voids

  5. Spray-on Polyurethane if Preserving Bark

  6. Wood Glue if Preserving Bark & it needs extra support.

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Sand the wood as needed (sand in the direction of the Wood Grain)Be very aware of any cut marks or dips in the wood that will show up when finished but most importantly make the table wobble once the legs are installed.

  2. Condition the wood & fill voids if doing so. I suggest you do.

  3. If you are Preserving Bark apply Wood Glue to loose pieces & let dry. Then cover all other areas ( I use old paper grocery bags) then spray the Bark with Polyurethane, multiple coats is best.

  4. Apply your first coat of finish (brush stroke in the direction of the wood grain) follow the instructions of your product on drying times.

  5. Sand (in the direction of the wood grain) per finish instructions. I personally don't stress too much on streaks since additional coats fill them.

  6. Follow Steps 3 & 4 until you reach desired results.

  7. Let dry at least 24 hours before final sanding/buffing, the longer the better.

  8. Buff with your preferred fine Gritt product, do not apply pressure at this point just lightly move over the wood. (I use steel wool at this point & move in a circular motion)

  9. Drill holes for the Hairpin Legs. I set my wood down on the garage floor on top of a rug or towels...remember I said a proper workstation isn't needed! I always suggest drilling a pilot hole first, so set the legs on the table & mark where the holes will be then drill pilots. Put the legs back & install the screws. *TIP be aware of the balance of the table legs too far in arent as sturdy as legs closer to the edges. Also make sure your screws aren't too long & will poke through your table, been there done that.

  10. Apply finishing wax if doing so per product instructions. (I use a steel wool pad for this)


I USED


I ALSO USE




live edge wood

Live edge wood table

Live edge wood table

Live edge wood table


bottom of page